The University of Newcastle, Australia

Respiratory leader awarded TSANZ Fellowship

Wednesday, 29 March 2017

Professor Phil Hansbro has been awarded the title of Fellow of Thoracic Society of Australia and New Zealand (FThorSoc) in recognition of his expertise and experience in respiratory research.

Well-known for his research programs into COPD, asthma and infection and lung cancer, Phil leads major research bodies at the University of Newcastle and the Hunter Medical Research Institute (HMRI).

As Deputy Director of the Priority Research Centre for Healthy Lungs, Phil leads a research team comprising approximately 30 researchers. With a global reputation, this centre has received an Excellence in Research Australia (ERA) ranking of 5 (well above world standard) for the ERA assessments undertaken in 2010, 2012 and 2015.

With a rapid and continuing upward trajectory in research output and leadership, Professor Hansbro’s team’s research has led to the identification of numerous novel avenues for therapy and an extensive publication record.

Phil has achieved great success in the grant field, attracting over $22 million over the past 15 years to continue his group’s important medical research.

Through his work, Phil has developed and leads internationally renowned research programs that make major contributions to society’s understanding of the pathogenesis of chronic respiratory diseases.

Phil developed and convened the Newcastle Asthma Meeting in 2005, an annual event which continues to attract over 120 participants each year and has become the premier asthma meeting in Australia.

Phil is on the editorial boards for leading International journals such as Infection, Ecology and Epidemiology, Respirology, Mucosal Immunology and Frontiers in Immunology and is also a frequent reviewer for major journals in his field.

A global and national leader in respiratory health, Phil is not only effecting change in the health sphere, his research has also directly contributed to Government policy development in the respiratory health field.

The Fellowship was announced at the TSANZ AGM which took place on Saturday 25th March at 5pm at the TSANZSRS Annual Scientific Meeting (ASM) in Canberra.

Related news