The University of Newcastle, Australia

Celebrating innovation at annual awards

Thursday, 24 October 2013

Five University of Newcastle (UoN) researchers and one Hunter innovation champion will be honoured today for their achievements in translating knowledge, research and technology into commercial success at the 2013 Newcastle Innovations awards.

Newcastle Innovation logo

Excellence in Innovation awards will be presented to recognise UoN researchers who are world-leaders in their field and demonstrate a focus on transferring their expertise into practical solutions for industry and the community. 

Looking externally, the efforts and achievements of one Hunter region champion of innovation will be recognised with the inaugural Leonard award for Innovation. 

The 2013 winners comprise:  

  • Professor Phil Hansbro has won an Excellence in Innovation award for his contributions to the fields of respiratory disease, allergy and immunology. His work attracts considerable commercial interest, grants and industry contracts.  
  • Professor Carolyn Mountford has won an Excellence in Innovation award for her work in Magnetic Resonance Spectroscopy (MRS), which plays a significant role in detecting early stage cancer using non-invasive methods.  
  • Dr Anton Kriz has won an Excellence in Innovation award for his work as a key influencer of innovation in business and the driver of projects around regional innovation systems, innovation champions, open innovation alliances and cluster development.  
  • Professor Mark Jones has won an Excellence in Innovation award for his role as leader of the globally successful Newcastle Innovation division, TUNRA Bulks Solids (TBS). TBS maintains a strong reputation in industry for world-class research in all aspects of bulk solids handling.  
  • Professor Natashia Boland has won an Excellence in Innovation award for her solutions to logistical challenges and optimisation issues, which have secured her a number of ARC Linkage Grants and industry contracts.  
  • Neville Sawyer AM has won the inaugural Leonard award for Innovation for his work with the Hunter Founders Forum and leadership of the Hunter Innovation Festival. He has established key enablers to support innovation for the region's researchers, businesses and investors.  

The awards are an initiative of Newcastle Innovation, the technology transfer office of the University tasked with linking research to commercial partners.  

"These awards demonstrate the incredible work of UoN researchers and the value of linking their talent and expertise to industry," said Christopher Kelleher, acting CEO of Newcastle Innovation. "Congratulations to all winners and I thank them for their contributions in making the Hunter and Central Coast regions truly innovative."  

The awards will be presented at Fort Scratchley Multipurpose Centre today at 12pm.

  • Blythe Hamilton
  • Phone: +612 4921 6856

Related news