The University of Newcastle, Australia

Baragwanath Award

Monday, 18 November 2013

The Australian Institute of Energy will bestow its most prestigious honour, the Baragwanath Award, on University of Newcastle chemical engineer Emeritus Professor Terry Wall, at the 10th Australian Coal Science Conference in Brisbane tonight.

Terry WallThe award, recognising a lifetime of outstanding contribution to coal science research, is named after Mr George Baragwanath*. Thirteen eminent researchers have received the award from the Australian Institute of Energy since 1981.

Professor Terry Wall, AM FAIE ATSE, has a high international standing for leadership and personal contributions in Research and Development on coal combustion which enhanced power station performance and environmental control in Australia and overseas, and provided major support to the Australian coal export industry.

Currently Professor Wall and his research group's activities are coal focussed including projects on oxyfuel technology for carbon capture and storage, carbon dioxide cleaning and compression, pulverised coal injection, coking coal evaluation and emissions from coal use.

Since 2010, Professor Wall has been a Science Leader of the Australian National Low Emission Coal R&D (ANLECR&D) organisation. He was made a Member (AM) of the Order of Australia in 2001 Australia Day honours list for service to the coal industry and education. He is also an Elected Fellow of the Australian Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering.

The Baragwanath Award will be presented at a conference dinner on Monday 18 November as part of the 10th Australian Coal Science Conference in Brisbane.

 * George Ernest Baragwanath spent his entire working life with the Victorian State Electricity Commission, starting as a Junior Engineering Assistant and finishing as a deputy Division head. His particular area of interest was brown coal. In 1981 the Australian Institute of Energy established the Baragwanath Lecture/Award, which is presented at the Australian Institute of Energy's biennial Coal Science Conference for individuals making major contributions to Australian coal science.

  • Carmen Swadling, Media and Public Relations
  • Phone: +61 2 4985 4276 or 0428 038 477.

Related news