3MT Faculty Heat 2018

Thursday, 26 July 2018

The Faculty of Science 3MT Heat was held last Friday 20th July 2018 and we’d like to take this opportunity to thank all 18 Faculty of Science and 1 Faculty of Medicine HDR students who participated in the Faculty Heat.

The Faculty is pleased to announce the three Faculty finalists for the Three Minute Thesis Competition (pictured below from left) are:

Caitlin Chambers - PhD (Biological Science), Romany McGuffog - PhD (Psychology - Science), Caitlin Fehily - PhD (Psychology - Science).

Thank you also, to all academic staff and HDR students who attended the Faculty Heat to support the candidates and to listen to some outstanding three minute talks reflecting the diversity of excellent research being conducted by HDR candidates in the Faculty.

A big thank you also to the judges: A/Prof Grant Webber (Assistant Dean, Research Training Faculty of Engineering and Built Environment); Mr Tim Cotter(Regional Manager, AusIndustry - Business Services, Department of Industry) Innovation and Science; and Dr Katrina King (Research Grants Officer) Faculty of Science.

Pictured below are the contestants:

The winner of the $500 voucher for entering this year’s Three Minute Thesis Faculty Heat was Shiv Bolan (PhD Environmental Remediation).

The three (3) Faculty finalists will go on to compete at the UON Final on Friday 24th August 2018 at the Conservatorium from 4.00pm to 6.00pm. If a Faculty of Science finalist wins the UON Final, they will receive a $5,000 FSCI research support prize.

Please come along to support our finalists and network with local community, industry and business representatives who will also be in attendance.

Register for the UON Final here: https://www.eventbrite.com.au/e/three-minute-thesis-tickets-47457585917

Related news