The Jean Bogan Prize for Piano Composition 2014

Thursday, 7 August 2014

The 2015 Jean Bogan Prize for Piano Composition has been awarded to two talented composers.

The Newcastle Conservatorium of Music

Established in 1989 through the generosity of Mr. Laurie Bogan as a memorial to his wife, the Jean Bogan Prize is the only one of its kind in Australia. Since its inception, the prize has produced fine piano compositions, including a number by leading Australian composers such as Elena Kats-Chernin, Andrew Ford, Nigel Westlake and Brenton Broadstock.

The Jean Bogan Prize for Piano Composition offers two exciting categories – The $8,000 Jean Bogan Prize and the $1,500 Jean Bogan Youth Prize. Compositions for both streams can be in any particular style for musical scores between 10 to 20 minutes in length.

Submissions for the 2015 Prizes closed 31 October 2014 and the panel awarded the following applicants:

Jean Bogan Prize: Scott McIntyre (TAS)

Title of work: Piano Sonata No.2 

Jean Bogan Youth Prize: Elizabeth Younan (NSW)

Title of work: Persian Preludes


Contact Colin Spiers
Phone +61 2 4921 8925
Email |