The University of Newcastle, Australia

Faculty Board Membership - Nominate Now!

Monday, 21 September 2015

Are you an Academic staff member? Nominate now for membership on your Faculty Board!

The University of Newcastle is now calling for nominations for membership on Faculty Boards. The Faculty Boards are committees of Academic Senate. The purpose of each Faculty Board is to oversee quality assurance for teaching, learning and research activities within the Faculty. Each Faculty Board is required to contribute to good governance of the Faculty. Each Faculty Board is also expected to monitor the continuous improvement of the Faculty's activities within the relevant legislation and University Rules and policies.


Academic staff of the relevant school, who hold a substantive academic position of 0.5 full-time equivalent or above with a contract period of 12 months or longer, are eligible to nominate themselves as candidates for membership on Faculty Board and to vote in that election.

Such persons are also eligible to nominate themselves as the elected member from Faculty Board to be on Academic Senate in the event they are elected to Faculty Board.

Continuing members of Faculty Board are eligible to nominate themselves as the elected member from Faculty Board to be on Academic Senate.

Ex-officio members of the Faculty Board are not eligible to stand for election but can vote in the elections.

Current members whose term of office expires on 31 December 2015 are eligible to nominate for a further term.


If you are eligible – nominate now! Details of which positions are on offer are all available on the Call for Nominations (including Self-Nomination form) which can be downloaded here.

Nominations must be received by 5:00pm on Tuesday 6 October 2015 and submitted by post/delivered to:

Returning Officer
Advanced Technology Centre
Callaghan Campus

By email to the Deputy Returning Officer:

Want more information?

Visit the University's Elections Web Page for more information or contact Zoe Berzins, Deputy Returning Officer on x38777 or via email

Related news