Equity and diversity

Equity, diversity and inclusion are at the core of everything we do. We acknowledge, value and engage with the rich diversity of our communities, and seek to remove systemic barriers which contribute to inequity.

The Faculty of Science is working to transform ourselves and our society so that the material and intellectual progress enabled by the University’s teaching and research can be shared with everyone.

The Faculty is a proud contributor the University’s SAGE Athena SWAN Bronze Accreditation and is an active partner in equity, diversity and inclusion (EDI) initiatives across our regions. Our continued engagement in this important space is guided by Professor Jenny Bowman, Assistant Dean – Equity, Diversity and Inclusion.

Professor Bowman is Chair of the Faculty’s EDI Committee. A key aim of the Committee is to review indicators of equity, diversity and inclusion and to develop, recommend, implement and evaluate initiatives within the Faculty to improve our practice and outcomes.

Equity and diversity committee group photo

Further information

Pictured from left to right Dr Tara Clinton-Mcharg, Shelley Wilson, Janey Richards, A/Prof Ian Grainge, A/Prof Stef Paolini, Dr Elena Levchenko, Dr Guy Hawkins, Nicole Stead, Hollie Tose, Dr Hannah Power, Prof Jenny Bowman, Dr Ayanka Wijayawardena, Mark Quinan, A/Prof Clovia Holdsworth, Emeritus Prof John Patrick, Dr Michela Simone, Prof Silvia Frisia

Latest News

News • 19 May 2020

Unique Women in STEMM scholarship program supports Early Career Researchers

In a first for an Australian university to help redress some of the systemic biases female academics face, the University of Newcastle has awarded fully-funded PhD candidate scholarships to six Women in STEMM Early Career Researchers.

News • 11 Feb 2020

Nurturing the next generation of women in STEMM

Science and gender equity are taking equal precedence across the world today, as support mobilises for the United Nation’s 2020 International Day of Women and Girls in Science.

The University of Newcastle acknowledges the traditional custodians of the lands within our footprint areas: Awabakal, Darkinjung, Biripai, Worimi, Wonnarua, and Eora Nations. We also pay respect to the wisdom of our Elders past and present.