University centres

Centre for 21st Century Humanities

The Centre for 21st Century Humanities is focussed on three key themes of e-research, impact, and crossing disciplines. Our vision is for the University of Newcastle to be known for excellence in the humanities to complement our distinction in science, engineering and medicine.

Excellence for Equity in Higher Education

The Centre of Excellence for Equity in Higher Education (CEEHE) undertakes interdisciplinary, international and collaborative research designed to create the highest standards in equity practice locally, nationally and globally.  CEEHE combines the University of Newcastle's extensive experience of equity initiatives locally with the widely acknowledged research expertise of its staff in this field to offer global leadership.

Literary and Linguistic Computing (CLLC)

The Centre for Literary and Linguistic Computing was established to continue the development and application of statistical and computing tools for the analysis of literary texts.

Social Research and Regional Futures (CSRRF)

The Centre for Social Research and Regional Futures (CSRRF) examine the roles that policy, people and organisations play in changing and developing regional economies and communities, primary industries, energy and resource management, land use planning, and natural environments.

Study of Research Training and Impact (SORTI)

SORTI is focused on understanding and developing research and higher order problem solving skills, and the impact of research training and outcomes.

Study of Violence

The Centre for the Study of Violence is a world-first collaboration that applies new historical knowledge to advance humanity's understanding of violence. Members of the Centre explore every aspect of the history of violence, including concepts of violence, representations of violence, questions of interpersonal violence, and issues of political and cultural violence.

The University of Newcastle acknowledges the traditional custodians of the lands within our footprint areas: Awabakal, Darkinjung, Biripai, Worimi, Wonnarua, and Eora Nations. We also pay respect to the wisdom of our Elders past and present.