Conference Program

Download the full program here

Thursday, 12th Dec 2019

9.00 – 9.45

Meeting of the ICA-AP Committee on Co-operative Research (by invitation)

Room x801

10:00 – 12:00

Meeting of ICA members in Oceania and Pacific Island countries (by invitation)

Room X801

12:00 – 13:00

ECR - Young Scholars Workshop

Networking Lunch

Opening Address and Welcome:

Welcome by Dr. Akira Kurimoto, Chairperson, ICA Asia-Pacific Research Committee.

Welcome by Dr. Sidsel Grimstad, Co-Chair of the Local Organising Committee.

Room X205

13:00 – 14.30

Session 1: Introductions of Young Scholars and their Research  

Breakout Session: Participants discuss personal experiences around publishing.

Room X205

14:30 – 15:30

Session 2:  Panel Discussion: Publishing Co-operative Research-

Senior academics will discuss their experiences as co-operative scholars, ‘mistakes’ they have made and keys to success. They will offer advice, tips and tricks.  Followed by a Q&A session.

·              Professor Morris Altman (Dundee University).

·              Professor Branka Krivokapic-skoko (Southern Cross University).

·              Asst. Prof. Olivera Marjanovic (University of Technology Sydney).

·              Professor Paul Thambar (Monash University Melbourne).

Room X205


Tea/Coffee Break

16.00 – 17.30

Session 3:  Workshop: Developing a Network for Emerging Co-operative Scholars

Professor Tony Webster (Northumbria University, UK) presentation, ‘Establishing the UK network of young co-op scholars.’

Emi Do, Coordinator of the Young Co-operative Scholars Initiative and PhD student Tokyo University, will facilitate a workshop to establish an Asia Pacific Co-operative Research Scholar Network.

Room x205

17:30 – 19:30

Meet & Greet (for all conference participants)

Optional get-together for Young scholars afterwards

NUspace Balcony 5th Floor

08:00 – 08.30

Main Conference

Registrations open from 8.00  Tea and Coffee available

Ground floor

08.30 – 9.00

Opening Ceremony

Welcome to Country by Awabakal Elder:  Aunty Tracey Hanshaw.

Room X101

9.00 – 9.30

Opening Address by Acting PVC Professor Jim Jose, Acting PVC Faculty of Business and Law, University of Newcastle.

Opening address by Mr. Balasubramanian Iyer, Regional Director of the ICA Asia- Pacific Committee.

Welcome by Professor Morris Altman, Co-Chair of Local Organising Committee.

Room X101

09:30 – 10:00

Keynote Address

“Opportunities for advancing the co-operative sector through collaboration among co-operatives”

Ms. Melina Morrison, CEO of the Business Council of Cooperatives and Mutuals (BCCM) in Australia.

Room X101

10:00 – 11:15

Industry Panel 1: Industry, Innovation and Infrastructure, “Co-operatives supporting regional development”

This panel showcases the resilience and innovative strength of co-operatives and mutuals as key contributors to regional economies.

Facilitator : CEO Trevor Stuart, Australia Industry Group Hunter.

CEO Mr. Tony Cade – CEO of the HunterNet Co-operative.

Director Mr. T. P. Sethumadavan – Uralungal Labor Contractors Co-operative Society (ULCCS).

CEO Mr. Robert Gauta, Commercial Fisherman’s Co-operative, Newcastle.

CEO Mr. Geoff Seccombe, The Mutual Bank, Maitland.

Director Ms. Kate Davies, Tooraweenah Prime Lamb Marketing Co-operative Ltd, Gilgandra.

Room X101

11:15 – 11.30

Tea Coffee Break

11.30 – 13:00

Research Session 1

Session 1A: Cooperatives, sustainability, resilience and regional development

Session 1B:  Legal and institutional parameters and barriers to co-operative growth

Session 1C: Co-operative capital, finance and banking

Session 1D: Co-operative empowerment of women, youth and indigenous communities

Session 1E: Strengthening co-operative advantage using value and supply chains

Room X201

Room X202

Room X 204 Room X 205

Room X207

13:00 – 14:00

Lunch Break

14:00 – 15.15

Industry Panel 2: Co-operative innovation for environmental sustainability and equity

This industry panel showcases co-operative innovations in Australia working towards the achievement of the sustainable development goals, environmental sustainability and more equitable development.

Facilitator:  Professor Bronwen Morgan, UNSW Law School.

Mr. Rohan Clarke – Chair of Platform Co-op Taskforce, BCCM.

Ms. Jarra Hicks – Founding Director, Community Power Agency.

Mr. Andrew Ward – CEO,

Ms. Molly Kendall, Resource Co-operative, Hobart, Tasmania.

Mr. David Davies, AgUnity, digital solutions for the small-scale farmers in developing countries.

Room X101

15.15 - 1645

Research Session 2:

Session 2A: Co-operative theories and case studies

Session 2B: Worker Co-ops and Decent Work

Session 2C:  Gender Equality in Co-operative Governance

Session 2D: Co-operative theories and case studies

Session 2E: Data and measurement for improved co-op performance, impact and accountability

Room X201

Room X202

Room X204

Room X205

Room X207


Poster Presentation with Tea and Coffee break included

Foyer outside room x101

17.00 – 18.00

Industry Panel 3 – Co-operation among co-operatives – Oceania and the South Pacific.

This industry panel will explore opportunities and barriers to co-operation among co-operatives with a particular focus on co-op education and training in Oceania and the South Pacific region.

Facilitator: Sam Byrne Co-op NSW.

Panel comprising:

Ms. Roz Henry, CEO Cooperative Business New Zealand.

Ms. Melina Morrison, CEO, Business Council of Co-operatives and Mutuals Australia.

Mrs. Kammari Betiota, Director for the Ministry of Commerce, Industry and Cooperatives, Kiribati.

Mr. Faizal Khan, Director and Registrar, Department of Cooperative Business, Ministry of Industry, Trade and Tourism, Fiji.

Mr. Joseph Ridley, Acting Director/Registrar, Office of Registrar of Cooperatives and Business Development Services, Vanuatu.

Mr. Ricky Manus, Registrar, Office of Cooperative Societies, Papua New Guinea.

Room X101

19.00 – 22:00

Conference dinner in NewSpace

Dr. Mauritz Bonow Young Researcher Award.

Room X502


Morning Coffee available from 8:30

09:00 – 09:30

Keynote Address

“The Past, Present and Future of Co-operatives: Visual Atlas of Australian Co-operative History”

Prof. Greg Patmore, Emeritus Professor of Business and Labor History in the School of Business, University of Sydney.

Room X101

9.30 -11.00

Research Session 3:

Session 3A: Co-operation among co-operatives

Session 3B: Platform Co-operatives

Session 3C: Co-operative delivery of public services and co-operative education

Session 3D: New models and innovations in agricultural co-ops

Session 3E : Co-operative empowerment of women, youth and indigenous communities

Room X201

Room X202 Room X204

Room X205

Room x207

11.00 -11.30

Tea coffee break

11.30 – 12.30

Industry Panel 4, Dairy Co-operatives, new challenges and sustainable economic development

This panel will bring together views on contemporary challenges and opportunities facing agricultural and specifically dairy co-operatives in the Asia Pacific and the potential for co-operation among co-operatives in global supply and value chains.

Facilitator: Ann Apps

Greg McNamara, Chairperson, NORCO Co-operative Ltd.

Mr. R.S. Sodhi – Managing Director, Gujarat Co-operative Milk Marketing Federation/AMUL.

Prof Nicola Shadbolt - Professor of Farm & Agribusiness Management, Massey University, New Zealand.

Mr. Stuart Crosthwaite, Chairperson, Mountain Milk Co-operative Ltd.

Room X101

12.30 - 1300

Closing Plenary

Presentation on establishing a Asia-Pacific Network of young scholars

Vote of thanks

Room X101



14-00 – 15.00

Sixth Meeting of the ICA-AP Committee on Cooperative Research (By invitation)

Room X801

The University of Newcastle acknowledges the traditional custodians of the lands within our footprint areas: Awabakal, Darkinjung, Biripai, Worimi, Wonnarua, and Eora Nations. We also pay respect to the wisdom of our Elders past and present.