Earth Sciences

The Earth Sciences major is a broad and dynamic course that incorporates many sub-disciplines. You’ll dive into the study the Earth’s interacting systems, atmosphere, hydrosphere, and biosphere to further your understanding of how the planet has evolved and will continue to evolve through time.

This major features extensive fieldwork and practical experience – working in a variety of environments you’ll examine the processes of our earth, soil, water, as well as our spatial science and structural geology.

Explore new scientific discoveries as an environmental consultant, in resources management or within agriculture and energy industries.

Earth Sciences is an 80 unit major, specific courses can be found in the program handbook.

The Earth Sciences major within the Bachelor of Science is only available at our Newcastle (Callaghan) campus.

The University of Newcastle acknowledges the traditional custodians of the lands within our footprint areas: Awabakal, Darkinjung, Biripai, Worimi, Wonnarua, and Eora Nations. We also pay respect to the wisdom of our Elders past and present.