I am a prospective
student, looking to study at
Duration4 years full-time or part-time equivalent up to 10 years maximum.4 years full-time.
Mode of deliveryFace to Face
Start datesSemester 1 (21 Feb 2022), Semester 2 (18 Jul 2022), Semester 1 (21 Feb 2022), Semester 2 (18 Jul 2022), Intake in 2022, Intake in 2022,
FeesFind information about indicative course and program fees.
English proficiencyIELTS overall minimum - 7.5, IELTS section minimum - 7.0 (R,W), 8.0 (L,S) Find out more about IELTS.
CRICOS CodeCRICOS code: 095155F
Program Code40107
Selection Rank
75.85 (Median SR)
75.85 (Median SR)
Entry requirements

Admission to our undergraduate degree programs usually requires successful completion of a senior secondary school qualification similar to the Higher School Certificate (HSC), the highest educational award in New South Wales schools.


Study a teaching area in French for secondary education

As one of the top romance languages, French has over 220 million speakers and 72 million partial speakers.

French is one of the very few languages still widely spoken all over the world across diverse cultures, societies and nationalities. Learning French and gaining your teaching qualifications will open doors to many exciting opportunities for travel, work and further study.

You will learn both written and verbal communication skills in French, and engage with the larger cultural and social context of French as a global language. At the University of Newcastle, studying French as a teaching area within your Bachelor of Education (Secondary) degree enables you with fluency and expertise to teach secondary French or to pursue other opportunities.

What jobs can you get with a teaching area in French teaching?

When you study a teaching area in French teaching at the University of Newcastle, you gain exceptional French language skills, and a teaching qualification which prepares you for work in Australian secondary schools. You’ll study how to read, write and speak in French, and also how to teach these skills at HSC and junior levels.

You may wish to study a related teaching area to further your qualifications in secondary teaching, such as English, Modern History and Society and Culture.

Suitable for education and teaching students with:

  • An interest in learning how to read, write and speak in the French language.
  • Goals to develop an appreciation of French culture by studying the French language.
  • A commitment to teaching young students how to communicate in French, so that they may be inspired by your passion and enthusiasm for French culture.

What do you learn in a French teaching area?

If you choose to study a teaching area in French teaching you will be able to study the language at elementary, intermediate and extended levels of competency. We offer courses in:

  • Elementary French: At elementary level students will learn basic French vocabulary and language structures. Elementary courses are intended for students with little to no knowledge of the language, where you will learn the foundations for further study in French.
  • Intermediate and Extended French: This level of study in French will see students learn more advanced vocabulary and grammar. You will also develop your pronunciation of French language forms beyond elementary levels. There will be a heavy focus on listening as well as speaking, writing and reading, to develop your appreciation of the language’s complexity across the Francophone world.
  • French Studies: We offer a number courses in French culture and language translation. Study the history of Paris, focusing on the philosophical, political, social and cultural movements which have taken place in the city from the 18th century to the present. Should you choose to study translation you will have the opportunity to engage in a variety of exercises, translating texts into and out of French.

Which degrees include this teaching area?

The Bachelor of Education (Secondary) and any associated degree program allows you to study a teaching area in French:

The University of Newcastle acknowledges the traditional custodians of the lands within our footprint areas: Awabakal, Darkinjung, Biripai, Worimi, Wonnarua, and Eora Nations. We also pay respect to the wisdom of our Elders past and present.