Student Advisory Council

The Student Advisory Council has been formed as a channel for communication between the University and its student community on matters affecting the academic and social wellbeing of students. The Council is made up of students who have been elected by their peers to represent them on University committees and boards, as well as nominated students who represent campuses or specific student groups. The Student Advisory Council strengthens the voice of UON students as it advises the Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Academic) and reports annually to the University Council.

Terms of Reference

You can find the terms of reference for the Student Advisory Council here (PDF, 127KB). The terms of reference outline exactly why the Council exists, and what they can do for their fellow UON students. They also show the groups that members represent.

Members of the Student Advisory Council

Student Members

Phill JohnsonElected Student Representative to University Council
George PantelopoulosStudent Representative of Academic Senate
Dominic MayUndergraduate Student Representative, Faculty of Business and Law
Student Representative - NUsport
Matthew GiakoumatosUndergraduate Student Representative, Faculty of Education and Arts
Shoaib MalikUndergraduate Student Representative, Faculty of Engineering and Built Environment
Bhavi RavindranUndergraduate Student Representative, Faculty of Health and Medicine
Miranda CashinUndergraduate Student Representative, Faculty of Science
Chloe BarwickIndigenous Student
Ronnie AiolupoteaInternational Student
Donavan JonesHDR Student
Sue WilsonOurimbah Student
Samson OwakaSydney Student
VACANTPort Macquarie Student
Faria QuoreshiPostgraduate Coursework Student Representative - NUPSA
Lucinda ReganUndergraduate Coursework Student Representative - NUSA
Dylan SummerellStudent Representative - Yourimbah
Samy KorbiEnglish, Language and Foundation Studies (ELFS) Student
Tharsini UrutherakumarStudent Living Advisory Committee Student

University Staff Members

Professor Darrell EvansDeputy Vice-Chancellor (Academic)
Professor Winnie EleyDeputy Vice-Chancellor (International and Advancement)
Professor Kevin HallDeputy Vice-Chancellor (Research and Innovation)

Attendees with Rights of Audience and Debate

Ms Gail WhiteAcademic Registrar
Professor Jenny AllenDean of Students
Professor Liz BurdPro Vice-Chancellor (Learning and Teaching)
Professor Steve LarkinPro Vice-Chancellor (Indigenous Education and Research)

Student Advisory Council Meetings

The Student Advisory Council meets four times per year. If you would like to raise an issue for discussion, either contact a Student Advisory Council member or email They will advise you of the outcome after the meeting.

Positions Vacant

If you are interested in becoming part of the Student Advisory Council, keep an eye on the Student Elections webpage and your myUON portal.

More Information

If you have any further questions about the Student Advisory Council, you can email