2021 Shortlisted Nominees

Celebrating the professional learning experiences and partnerships that prepare our students for success.

The University of Newcastle Employability Excellence Awards showcase the students, staff and community partners that inspire our reputation for producing Work Ready Graduates. This event recognises excellence across all facets of employability development including our industry, community and business collaborators.

Nominations are now closed and our moderators have determined the final shortlist for each category. From a highly competitive field the following nominees will be considered by the judging panel.

Student Awards

Work Integrated Learning Student of the Year Award

Jeffrey Freeman
Bachelor of Arts

Joshua Dunstan
Bachelor of Food Science and Human Nutrition

Kaitlyn Cooper, Krystal Goodman, and Samantha Downs
Bachelor of Visual Communication Design

Kiarra Tilden
Bachelor of Medical Radiation Science (Honours) (Diagnostic Radiography)

Michelle Wellard
Bachelor of Midwifery

Nicholas Harris
Master of Clinical Psychology

Riley De Juliis
Bachelor of Nursing

Tiana Leck
Bachelor of Medical Engineering (Honours) / Bachelor of Mechatronics Engineering (Honours)

Student Employability Achievement Award

Jessica Heaney
Bachelor of Laws (Honours) / Diploma of Legal Practice

Maddison Battese
Bachelor of Development Studies / Bachelor of Laws (Honours)

Mikyla Peters
Bachelor of Electrical and Electronic Engineering (Honours) / Bachelor of Computer Systems Engineering (Honours)

PhD (Education)

Student Entrepreneur of the Year Award

Ashley Harrison
Bachelor of Business / Bachelor of Laws (Honours)

Gabbie Aarons-Burton
Bachelor of Physiotherapy (Honours)

James Casey-Brown
Bachelor of Business / Bachelor of Innovation & Entrepreneurship

Student Intern/Cadet of the Year Award

Bohdi Cope
Bachelor of Construction Management (Building) (Honours)

Jade Lomax
Bachelor of Creative Industries

Joshua Hersant
Bachelor of Construction Management (Building) (Honours)

Ryan Maginnity
Bachelor of Business / Bachelor of Commerce

Staff Awards

Work Integrated Learning Staff Member of the Year Award

Dr Bonnie McBain

Dr Catherine Johnston & Clint Newstead

Dr Chris Tucker

Dr Ginger Chu

Associate Professor Hongyu Zhang & Associate Professor Karen Blackmore

Associate Professor Jesper Gulddal

Dr Kevin Sobel-Read

Professor Philip Morgan

Dr Tanmay Bagade

Industry Awards

Work Integrated Learning Hall of Fame Award – Small Employer

Employer with less than 200 employees

Maroba Aged Care

Rider Levett Bucknall

Hunter Primary Care

Central Coast Local Health District (Pharmacy Services)

Work Integrated Learning Hall of Fame Award – Large Employer

Employer with more than 200 employees

Umwelt Australia

Mayfield West Demonstration School

New Partner in Employability Award


Climate Risk Pty Ltd

Hunter Prelude

Congratulations to all who were nominated for these awards. The standard and variety of nominations reflects the strength of our University community’s commitment to excellence in employability.

View our Nomination Guidelines and FAQS for more information on our nomination process.

The University of Newcastle acknowledges the traditional custodians of the lands within our footprint areas: Awabakal, Darkinjung, Biripai, Worimi, Wonnarua, and Eora Nations. We also pay respect to the wisdom of our Elders past and present.