UON Academy Advisory Group

Established in 2014, the UON Academy is a key initiative of the NeW Directions Strategic Plan, under the Executive Leadership of Professor John Germov (pictured below). It exists to support and enhance the experience of UON's casual, sessional and conjoint academic staff at UON.

As an organisation-wide initiative, the UON Academy relies on input and support from all faculties and divisions. This is driven by the UON Academy Advisory Group.Professor John Germov and Tina Crawford

Chaired by Ms Tina Crawford (pictured right), Deputy Director Workforce Strategy and Transformation, the advisory group brings together key stakeholders from across the institution. It is responsible for considering strategic initiatives and supporting the implementation of Academy initiatives in their local areas.

UON Academy members are encouraged to approach their local Advisory Group member with feedback or ideas for discussion with the broader group. Alternatively, feedback can be emailed to UONAcademy@newcastle.edu.au.

Advisory Group members

Chair: Ms Tina Crawford, Deputy Director of Workforce Strategy and Transformation

Academic Division

Professor Liz Burd, PVC Learning and Teaching

Vivien McComb, Senior Academic Developer

Professor Carol Miles, Director Centre for Teaching and Learning

Dr Liam Phelan, Online Teaching & Learning Coordinator, Gradschool

David Powter, Senior Lecturer, Centre for English Language and Foundation Studies

Faculty of Business and Law

Associate Professor Suzanne Ryan, National Tertiary Education Union President

Faculty of Education and Arts

Tanille Elley, School Executive Officer

Professor John Fischetti, Head of School

Professor John Germov, Pro Vice-Chancellor and Future Workforce Convenor

Dr Lena Rodriguez, Senior Lecturer

Faculty of Engineering

Dr Colin Coates, Senior Lecturer

Lyndel Henry, Associate Lecturer

Faculty of Health and Medicine

Professor Kichu Nair

Diane Nesbitt, School Executive Officer

Professor Judith Scott, Deputy Head of Faculty

Faculty of Science and IT

Professor Eileen McLaughlin, Interim Pro Vice-Chancellor

Associate Professor Brett Nixon

UON Academy members

Christine Armstrong, FB&L

Dr Michael Sala, FEDUA

Vice-Chancellor's Division

Kim Bromley, Workforce Strategy Officer

Philippa Johnston, Workforce Strategy Project Manager

Mark Kirby, Manager Planning and Quality