Teaching Innovation Investment Scheme

The Teaching innovation investment Scheme enables our university teachers to innovate for the benefit of student success.  These investments seed funding for both innovative teaching activities and the creation of learning objects, as well as action research and evaluation into the success of effective teaching initiatives.

Ten Teaching Innovation Investments worth of up to $5000 each will be awarded.

Applications are open to academic and professional staff from across all faculties and divisions. Staff on fixed term contracts and sessional staff are eligible if their employment extends for the duration of the Investment project.  Both individual and team applications are encouraged.

Applications (including the project outline) should address the following:

  • Learning and Teaching problem/challenge to be addressed
  • Proposed change to current practice
  • Method/Approach
  • Project Outcomes, evaluation approach and return on investment
  • Alignment with NeW Education Framework

Applications are currently CLOSED. 

Guidelines and Application form - 2019

(Please download and save the application form before completing.)

2018 Recipients

Due to overwhelming interest in the Scheme, with 33 applications submitted, 12 projects have received up to $5000:

  • The Australian Experience
    James Bennett, Kate Ariotti, Victoria Haskins, Nancy Cushing – School of Humanities and Social Science
  • Online Gamification Framework   
    Ljiljana Brankovic, Stephan Chalup, Dave Robertson – School of Electrical Engineering and Computing
  • DIgital  Geographies (DIG)
    Michelle Duffy, Kathy Mee, Paul Hodge, Meg Sherval, Jenny Cameron – School of Environmental and Life Sciences
  • Digital Case Studies of Children who are deaf or hard of hearing
    Jill Duncan – School of Education
  • Engineering Education and immersive Technologies    
    Samuel Evans, Ken Sutton, Bill McBride
    – School of Engineering
  • Creating an immediate sense of belonging for all students in SABE using Universal Online Induction
    Helen Giggins, Sittimont Kanjanabootra, Warren Reilly, Judy-Anne Osborn, Sarah Jozefiak, Nicholas Foulcher, Andrew Dunne – School of Architecture and Built Environment
  • Let’s Talk About Sex
    Karen Mate, Saad Salem – School of Biomedical Sciences and Pharmacy
  • Digital Education for Professional Emergency Nurse Development 
    Lucinda Mithen – School of Nursing and Midwifery
  • Feed Forward 
    Simone Nance, Annette Morante – English Language and Foundation Studies Centre and Centre for Teaching and Learning
  • Embedded Mental Wellbeing Support 
    Michelle Picard, Evonne Irwin, Vivien McComb, Helen Scobie, Emma Kerr – English Language and Foundation Studies Centre
  • Authentic Assessors 
    Amanda Wilson, Kichu Nair, Lyn Ebert – School of Nursing and Midwifery
  • Health Collaborators 
    Graeme Horton, Conor Gilligan, Sue Outram, Lauren Cone, Anne Croker – School of Medicine and Public Health