Faculty and school leadership

Faculty of Business and Law
Pro Vice-Chancellor and Executive Dean Professor Tony Travaglione
Dean and Head, Newcastle Business School Abul Shamsuddin
Dean and Head, Newcastle Law School Professor Tania Sourdin
Faculty of Education and Arts
Pro Vice-ChancellorProfessor John Fischetti
Head, School of Creative Industries Professor Paul Egglestone 
Head, School of Humanities and Social Science  Professor Catharine Coleborne
Head, School of Education (Acting)  Associate Professor Robert Parkes
Faculty of Engineering and Built Environment
Pro Vice-Chancellor Professor Brett Ninness
Head, School of Architecture and Built Environment  Professor SueAnn Ware
Head, School of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science  Professor Rick Middleton
Head, School of Engineering Professor Mark Jones
Faculty of Health and Medicine
Pro Vice-Chancellor Laureate Professor John Aitken
Head, School of Biomedical Sciences and Pharmacy Professor Darryl Knight
Head, School of Health Sciences   Associate Professor Shane Dempsey
Head, School of Medicine and Public Health  Professor Brian Kelly
Head, School of Nursing and Midwifery Professor Alison Hutton
Faculty of Science
Pro Vice-Chancellor Professor Lee Smith
Head, School of Environmental Life Sciences 

Professor Sandy Steacy

Head, School of Mathematical and Physical Sciences Professor Colin Waters
Head, School of Psychology  Professor Kristen Pammer

The University of Newcastle acknowledges the traditional custodians of the lands within our footprint areas: Awabakal, Darkinjung, Biripai, Worimi, Wonnarua, and Eora Nations. We also pay respect to the wisdom of our Elders past and present.