Course handbook


Prepares students for the commencement of undergraduate study and requires a sound knowledge of fundamental principles of physics. The depth and extent of the subject is similar to the HSC Physics course. It covers the basic concepts of electrostatics, magnetism, simple circuits and some modern physics.

Availability2018 Course Timetables


  • Semester 2 - 2018

Learning outcomes

On successful completion of the course students will be able to:

1. Provides a sound knowledge of the fundamentals of physics.

2. Extends a student's understanding of physical phenomena from that presented in EPPHYS152.

3. Develops problem solving and research skills essential for undergraduate study.

4. Illustrates the principles of physics with little mathematics.

5. Enhances problem solving and logical processes within a mathematical framework.


Physics II will cover:

  1. Charge, Electrostatics and Coulomb's Law
  2. Electric potential, fields and energy
  3. Simple Resistor and capacitor circuits
  4. Kirchoff's Rules for circuit analysis
  5. Magnets and magnetic forces
  6. Basic electromagnetism
  7. The structure of the atom and its nucleus
  8. Nuclear half life, nuclear decay and nuclear stability
  9. Nuclear Fusion and Fission
  10. Radiation dose and its biological effects.


To enrol in this course students must have successfully completed EPPHYS152 and be active in the Open Foundation Program or the Yapug Program.

Assessment items

Online Learning Activity: Five online assignments

In Term Test: Mid-Semester Exam

Tutorial / Laboratory Exercises: Laboratory Exercises

Formal Examination: Final Examination

Contact hours



Face to Face On Campus 3 hour(s) per Term Full Term


Face to Face On Campus 2 hour(s) per Week for 12 Weeks


Face to Face On Campus 1 hour(s) per Week for 11 Weeks