The University of Newcastle, Australia
Available in 2019

Course handbook


This course introduces students to a variety of foundational visual communication design principles and encourages their experimentation of them. It explores how visual design elements and principles work together to make and communicate meaning. It covers the fundamental principle of tone of voice through the relationship between type, image and graphic elements.

Availability2019 Course Timetables

Newcastle City Precinct

  • Semester 1 - 2019

Learning outcomes

On successful completion of the course students will be able to:

1. Demonstrate a solid understanding of the relationship between material experimentation and idea generation;

2. Experiment with the interplay between visual elements and content using foundational design principles;

3. Generate content for relevant formats;

4. Complete design projects to an acceptable production standard.

5. Document and communicate their design process


Topics will include:

  1. Visual elements and content including - but not limited to - point, line, plane, texture, colour, negative space, etc;
  2. Design principles - including but not limited to - scale, contrast, movement, rhythm, balance, repetition, etc;
  3. Experimenting with visual forms and materials;
  4. Experimenting with concept and content generation.  


This course replaces DESN1100. If you have successfully completed DESN1100 you cannot enrol in this course.

Assessment items

Project: Completed Design Work 40%

Presentation: Presentations - Individual 40%

Journal: Process Journal 20%

Contact hours

Newcastle City Precinct


Face to Face On Campus 1 hour(s) per Week for 6 Weeks


Face to Face On Campus 2 hour(s) per Week for 12 Weeks