Not currently offered
Course code



40 units


4000 level

Course handbook


This course is the second part of the CS Honours project.

Parts 1 and 2 together comprise a substantial individual research project usually involving a literature review together with a theoretical and/or practical investigation of a computer science or information technology problem. In part 2, students complete their project building on the foundations and the plan developed in part 1. Under the supervision of a member of the academic staff, each student will complete an individual research project and at the end provide a written exposition (research dissertation in the style of the discipline) of their research. Technical content will be dependent on the project undertaken.


Not currently offered.

Replacing course(s)

This course replaces the following course(s): COMP4252. Students who have successfully completed COMP4252 are not eligible to enrol in COMP4261.

Learning outcomes

On successful completion of the course students will be able to:

1. Prepare a research dissertation that displays an in-depth knowledge in a specific area of computer science or information technology.

2. Demonstrate coherent and advanced communication skills.

3. Demonstrate capacity to undertake postgraduate research.


The course content will be guided by individual meetings and directions from your academic supervisor. The focus of this second part is on undertaking the technical and/or theoretical implementation of your project, and the finalisation of your Honours research dissertation.


This course is only available to students enrolled in the Bachelor of Computing (Honours) [40283] program.If you have previously completed COMP4252, you cannot enrol in this course.

To enrol in this course, you must have successfully completed COMP4251.

Assumed knowledge

Knowledge is as required for the project undertaken.

Assessment items

Report: Honours Project Final Report

The University of Newcastle acknowledges the traditional custodians of the lands within our footprint areas: Awabakal, Darkinjung, Biripai, Worimi, Wonnarua, and Eora Nations. We also pay respect to the wisdom of our Elders past and present.