Godfrey Tanner Great Debate

Students trounce academics in 2016 GT Great Debate

It was third time lucky for the students team, beating the academics in this year’s Godfrey Tanner Great Debate.

Around 100 staff, students and community members turned out to watch the annual comedy-style debate, which is a fundraiser for the Godfrey Tanner Scholarship.

Accepting defeat graciously was Kcasey McLoughlin, Stacey Baxter and A/Prof Neil Foster, who are academics from the Faculty of Business and Law.

Adjudicator Gerry Ryan, UON alumnus and well-known ABC Sports broadcaster awarded the students’ team of Phill Johnson, Elyse Hudson and Giacomo Arnott the winning trophy.


The topic this year is the role of a university should be conducting research as opposed to teaching and learning.

View photos from the event here.

Crowd shot

To view more photos of previous events visit the UON Flickr site.

Anyone interested in making a donation to the Godfrey Tanner Memorial Scholarship Fund can call 02 4921 7453 or donate online.