Governance and management

At UON we are committed to ensuring our governance practices embody our purpose, strategy and values, fulfil our statutory functions effectively, and meet public expectations of probity, accountability and transparency.

We foster a culture that values high ethical standards, personal and institutional integrity and respect for others. We live our values and adhere to the standards set by our Code of Conduct when dealing with each other, our students and other stakeholders.

Good governance is the responsibility of Council and our senior management team, and good governance principles are embedded throughout the University community.

Basis of authority

The University of Newcastle is a statutory body established under the University of Newcastle Act 1989 NSW (the Act). The Act and the University of Newcastle Bylaw 2005 NSW (the By-law) set out the powers and functions of the University and how these must be performed.

Under Section 6 of the Act, the object of the University is the promotion, within the limits of the University’s resources, of scholarship, research, free enquiry, the interaction of research and teaching, and academic excellence. In the provision of these educational and research facilities the University has particular regard to the needs of the Hunter region, the Central Coast and surrounding areas.

In 2015, the Council members governed and represented the interests of the University to be a global leader in its spheres of achievement. Council contributed to the University’s vision, engaged with partners, supported the world class innovation and strengthened relationships with its regional communities through its expertise in a diverse range of areas including higher education, strategy, financial, commercial, international, risk, legal and major project oversight. Council member vacancies are filled by appointment or election.

Ex-officio members

Mr P.E. (Paul) Jeans, Chancellor, BE(UNSW), FIEAust, FAICD

Professor Caroline McMillen, Vice-Chancellor and President, MA(Oxon), DPhil(Oxon), MB, BChir(Cantab), FAHMS

Professor Mark Jones, President of Academic Senate BSc(Hons), PhD(CNAA, UK), FIMechE, CEng, FIEAust, CPEng

External members appointed by the Minister for up to 4 years

Conjoint Professor Geoff Lilliss, BE (Hons), MBA(Merit)(Newcastle), FIEAust, MAICD - Council member appointed to 31/8/2018

Mr Robert Kennedy, BEc (ANU), FCPA - Council member appointed to 31/1/2017

External members appointed by Council for up to 4 years

Ms Dianne Allen, Deputy Chancellor, BCom(Newcastle), FCA, GAICD, AMICDA - Council member appointed to 31/12/2018

Mr Peter Cockbain AM, BScEng(Newcastle), Hon FIE Aust, CPEng, FTSE - Council member resigned 9/2/2015

Ms Jann Gardner, BA, LLB(Sydney), MBA(Newcastle), GAICD - Council member appointed to 31/12/2016

Mr Brian Kennaugh, BBus(Newcastle), MAICD - Council member term concluded 31/12/2015

Ms Michelle McPherson, BBus(Accounting)(UTS), CA, GAICD - Council member appointed to 31/12/2017

Ms Deborah Wright, MBA(SCU), DipTeach(Newcastle), FAMI, CPM, AIMM, MAICD - Council member appointed to 31/12/2018

Mr John Bowers, BCom(Hons 1), MCom(Newcastle), AM(Harvard), CFA - Council member appointed to 13/8/2017

Mr Doug Dean AM, BCom(Newcastle), FCPA, FAIM, FICD - Council member appointed to 13/8/2017

Academic staff members – elected for up to 2 years

Professor Pablo Moscato, BSc(La Plata, Argentina), PhD(UNICAMP, Brazil) - Council member appointed to 31/8/2016

Dr Roslyn Larkin, BBus(Hons), PhD(Newcastle) - Council member appointed to 31/8/2016

Non-academic staff members – elected for up to 2 years

Ms Nerida Lithgow, BA(Newcastle) - Council member resigned 12/2/2015

Mr Michael Robertson, MTEM (Melb), B.Ed(Music)(Honours Class I) , DipMgmt, AdvDipMgmt - Council member appointed to 31/8/2016

Student member – elected for a term of 1 year

Mr Vivak Bhavitheren (Bhavi) Ravindran GAICD  - Council member term concluded 31/12/2015

The UON Council has an established committee structure to assist with exercising its authority, including monitoring the performance of UON to gain assurance that the organisation is meeting its strategic and overall performance objectives.

Members may attend all committee meetings with rights of audience and debate with the exception of the Chancellor’s Committee.

Committee attendance table

Academic Senate is established under Part 3, Division 2, Section 15 of the Act.

The Academic Senate is the principal academic body of UON and is the primary forum for debate on academic issues in the University.

The principal responsibility of the Academic Senate is to promote and enhance the excellence of the core academic activities in our institution - teaching and research. It approves and amends academic policies, and has a major role in academic quality assurance processes.

Academic Senate is supported by committees in specialised areas to ensure that ongoing consideration is given to key issues.

These committees are the Program and Course Approval Committee, the Teaching and Learning Committee, the Research Committee and the five Faculty Boards. Each committee is made up of faculty representatives. People with expertise in the focus areas of the committee are also invited to participate.

Professor Mark Jones commenced his term of President of Academic Senate on 1 January 2014.

For further information about Academic Senate program development please see the Appendices.

The Vice-Chancellor and President is the Principal Executive Officer of the University with responsibility for strategic direction, operation and management of the University, and chairs the University’s Executive Committee.

Organisation chart

Vice-Chancellor and President

Professor Caroline McMillen MA(Oxon), DPhil(Oxon), MB, BChir(Cantab), FAHMS

Pro Vice-Chancellor Health and Medicine

Laureate Professor John Aitken BSc, MSc, PhD(Cantab), ScD(Cantab), FSRB, FRSE, FAA

Pro Vice-Chancellor Learning and Teaching

Professor Liz Burd BEd(Hons)(CNAA), PG Cert, MSc, DPhil(York) PhD(Dunelm), FHEA, SMIEEE

Pro Vice-Chancellor Business and Law

Professor Richard Dunford BCA, BA(Hons)(Well) PhD(ANU)

Chief Financial Officer

Mr Paul Dunn BCom(Newcastle), FCPA

Pro Vice-Chancellor International and Advancement

Mrs Winnie Eley BEd(Hons), MBA(Nottingham)

Pro Vice-Chancellor Education and Arts

Professor John Germov BA(Chisholm), MA(Sociology)(Monash), PhD(Newcastle)

Deputy Vice-Chancellor Research and Innovation

Professor Kevin Hall BSc(Hons), MSc(Queens), PhD(UNSW)

Pro Vice-Chancellor Research and Innovation

Professor Deborah Hodgson BA(Hons), MSc(Macquarie), PhD(Macquarie), Registered Psychologist

Chief Operating Officer

Mr Nat McGregor BCom(Newcastle), MBA(Deakin), DipFinSvs(Risk Mgt), GAICD, CPA

Interim Pro Vice-Chancellor Science and IT

Professor Eileen McLaughlin BSc(Hons)(Glasgow) PhD(Bristol), FSRB (Term as PVC concluded 6/11/2015)

Interim Pro Vice-Chancellor Science and IT

Professor Mick McManus B.Pharm(Curtain), PhD(UWA)

Pro Vice-Chancellor Engineering and Built Environment

Professor Brett Ninness BEng, MEng, PhD(Newcastle)

Deputy Vice-Chancellor Academic

Professor Andrew Parfitt BE(Hons), PhD, FIEAust, SMIEEE, GAICD