Governing bodies

University Council

The University's principal governing body is the Council, comprising up to 16 members.  It is responsible for the governance of the University, acts in its best interest, drives performance through strategy and stewardship, provides overall strategic guidance and oversees senior management in carrying out that strategic direction.

Council operates in accordance with the University of Newcastle Act 1989 (the Act) and the University of Newcastle By-law 2017 (the By-law), which set out the powers and functions of the University and how these must be performed.

You can learn more about the role and responsibilities of the Council and its members in the University Council Charter.  This charter plays an important role in the University's governance framework.  The Charter is supported by a number of other documents which you can read more about online via the