Faculty of ScienceFaculty of Science

About us

Most of the critical issues that face our society today require science and mathematics to help solve these key concerns.

Climate change, population increase, economic uncertainty and technological growth are just some of the areas challenging our current and future generations.

The Faculty of Science supports crucial research in these areas and aims to produce highly informed individuals that can make a positive difference to the world.

Within our Faculty, we offer a broad range of study across 8 degrees and have 11 science majors to choose from.

Our Faculty is made up of three schools and a key research centre that collaboratively push for excellence in all areas and have contributed to the University being ranked in the top 250 universities in the world:

Our commitment to teaching and research is reflected in the outstanding achievements of our staff and students. Most of our academic staff are active in research, so our students are taught by experts and informed by the latest developments.

Both of our Newcastle (Callaghan) and Central Coast (Ourimbah) campuses are fully equipped with purpose-built facilities to provide students with a practical environment to develop their skills.

Work experience is also built into most of our courses, giving students the opportunity to apply these skills in the workplace and establish lasting connections to industry.

Due to the Faculty's strengths, our graduates are able to confidently enter the workforce and have gone on to work for highly regarded organisations such as CSIRO and the Breast Cancer Institute.

Welcome to the Faculty of Science and we look forward to working with you to reach your goals.