The University of Newcastle
Department of Rural Health
Department of Rural Health

Welcome from the Director

Professor Jenny MayOn behalf of the University of Newcastle Department of Rural Health (UONDRH), I invite you to undertake a placement with us.

The UONDRH is mainly funded through the Rural Health Multidisciplinary (RHMT) Program.  The RHMT program, focuses on facilitating student placements and learning, enhancing the health of local communities by conducting community projects and research into rural health issues.  With facilities in Tamworth, Taree, Armidale, Moree, Port Macquarie and Coffs Harbour, we support students in Medicine, Nursing, Nutrition and Dietetics, Physiotherapy, Medical Radiation Science, Occupational Therapy, Pharmacy and Speech Pathology.

The UoNDRH takes great pride in the support provided to students in the front line of the health care system.  Our aim is to provide not only high quality clinical training but also an enjoyable life experience, in magnificent rural centres, so as to expose our students to the career and lifestyle opportunities available outside of the metropolitan areas.

Our community engagement projects seek not only to provide health education and services to our local community, but also to provide aspiration to disadvantaged communities and to provide our students with first hand exposure to community issues.

Our growing research expertise is reflected in our Research Strategic Directions focusing on rural workforce, education, indigenous health and clinical evidence.

With the support of a diverse and energetic, academic and clinical network, the UONDRH is well placed to provide a high quality student teaching and learning experiences, excellence in research output, and partnerships aimed at building a strong and healthy community.

Professor Jenny May
University of Newcastle Department of Rural Health