Newcastle Law School Conjoint Staff

Conjoint Professor Richard Henry Anicich

Conjoint Professor Richard Henry Anicich is interested in commercial litigation, projects & Infrastructure, insolvency and restructuring law. In 2017 Legal 500 Asia Pacific directory acknowledged Anicich as a leading insolvency and restructuring lawyer. He holds a Bachelor of Commerce (Accounting, Finance & Systems) and a Bachelor of Laws Degree from University of New South Wales. Anicich is a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors (AICD), a public notary and an accredited mediator. In 2018 for services to the Hunter, development of business, medical and legal research he was appointed a Member of the Order of Australia (AM). He is currently Chair of the AICD Hunter Committee and a Director of the Hunter Business Chamber (the president between 2011-2014). Anicich also is a Non-Executive Director of Rural and Remote Medical Services Limited and Hunter Primary Care Ltd.

Conjoint Associate Professor Avi Brisman

Associate Professor Brisman’s research interests include the anthropology of law, critical criminology, cultural criminology, and green criminology. Within the area of green criminology, Associate Professor Brisman has written extensively on environmental rights, linkages between armed conflict and environmental degradation, representations of environmental crime and harm in film and literature, and individual and collective resistance to environmental crime and harm.

Conjoint Professor Fred Ellinghaus

Fred Ellinghaus was educated at the University of Melbourne and at Yale University. He has taught, researched and published mainly in the area of contract law. He is co-author (with N C Seddon) of Cheshire and Fifoot's Contract Law, 7th Australian edition (1997), 8th Australian edition (2002), and 9th Australian edition (2008). He is also co-author (with E W Wright) of An Australian Contract Code (Law Reform Commission of Victoria,1992), and of Models of Contract Law (Federation Press, 2005).

Conjoint Professor Kevin Lindgren

The Hon. Kevin Lindgren AM QC was a former Judge of the Federal Court of Australia (1994-2010) and President of the Copyright Tribunal of Australia (2000-2007). He is currently practising as an independent mediator, arbitrator and referee at Eleven Wentworth and appointed as an independent reviewer of settlements for the Australian Taxation Office

Conjoint Professor Michael Kirby

The Hon. Michael Kirby AC CMG is an international jurist, educator and former judge.  He served as a Deputy President of the Australian Conciliation and Arbitration Commission (1975-83); Chairman of the Australian Law Reform Commission (1975-84); Judge of the Federal Court of Australia (1983-4); President of the New South Wales Court of Appeal (1984-96); President of the Court of Appeal of Solomon Islands (1995-96) and Justice of the High Court of Australia (1996-2009).