Governance and leadership

University Council

University CouncilThe University of Newcastle is governed by its Council (pictured right) which is chaired by the Chancellor.

Council has responsibility for managing the affairs and concerns of the University according to the University of Newcastle Act 1989 (NSW) (the Act) and the University of Newcastle By-law 2017 (NSW) (the By-law).

According to the Act, University's core object is 'the promotion, within the limits of the University's resources, of scholarship, research, free inquiry, the interaction of research and teaching and academic excellence'.

Academic Senate

The principal academic body of the University of Newcastle is the Academic Senate.

The Academic Senate has the mission to protect, promote and enhance the excellence of the core academic activities within the University - teaching, learning and research.

Executive managementExecutive Committee

The Vice-Chancellor is the principal executive officer of the University and is responsible for supervising the educational and administrative affairs of the University.

The leadership team - the Executive Committee - provides advice to the Vice-Chancellor on matters of strategic and operational significance for the University.