Membership of the Research Committee 2024				
POSITION	NAME	COLLEGE/ DIVISION	TERM OF OFFICE	
4.1 Ex-Officio Members				
4.1.1 Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research and Innovation) (Chair)	Professor Zee Upton		Ex-Officio	
4.1.2 Deputy President of Academic Senate responsible for Research (Deputy Chair)	Associate Professor Nancy Cushing		Ex-Officio	
4.1.3 President of Academic Senate	Professor Tania Sourdin		Ex-Officio	
4.1.4 Pro Vice-Chancellor (College of Health, Medicine and Wellbeing) or nominee	Professor Chris Dayas		Ex-Officio	
4.1.5 Pro Vice-Chancellor (College of Human and Social Futures) or nominee	Professor Duncan McDuie-Ra		Ex-Officio	
4.1.6 Pro Vice-Chancellor (College of Engineering, Science and Environment) or nominee	Professor Brett Neilan		Ex-Officio	
4.1.7 Pro Vice-Chancellor (Research)	Professor Juanita Todd		Ex-Officio	
4.1.8 Pro Vice-Chancellor (Industry and Engagement)	Mr Warwick Dawson		Ex-Officio	
4.2 Members				
4.2.1 Chair, Research Training Sub-Committee	Professor Kylie Shaw			
4.2.2 One senior academic from the Wollotuka Institute	Dr Raymond Kelly			
4.2.3 Two Higher Degree Research students	Ms Courtney Watts Ms Amanda Cameron		31/12/2024 31/12/2024	
4.2.4 Up to five additional expert members	Dr Hannah Schunker Dr Sittimont Kanjanabootra A/Professor Yolanda Surjan Dr Alex Spencer A/Professor Angela Page		31/12/2024 31/12/2024 31/12/2024 31/12/2024 31/12/2024	
4.3 Rights of Audience and Debate				
4.3.1 Pro Vice-Chancellor (Student Experience and Academic Registrar) or nominee	Professor Lisa Wood	Academic		
4.3.2 Deputy Vice-Chancellor, Global Engagement and Partnerships or nominee	Professor Kent Anderson	Global		
4.3.3 Pro Vice-Chancellor (Indigenous Strategy and Leadership) or nominee	A/Professor Kath Butler (interim)	Vice- Chancellors		
4.3.4 Pro Vice-Chancellor (Academic Excellence) or nominee	Professor Jennifer Milam	Vice- Chancellors		
4.3.5 Director, Knowledge, Exchange and Enterprise	Ms Danielle Neale	Research		
4.3.6 Director, Research Grants	Ms Judy Alexander	Research		
4.3.7 Director, Research Ethics and Integrity	Professor Catharine Coleborne	Research		
4.3.8 Director, Research Facilities and Infrastructure	Mr Tim Dixon	Research		

Invitees		
Director, Hunter Medical Research Institute	Professor Frances Kay-Lambkin	
Director, Newcastle Institute for Energy and Resources	Professor Alan Broadfoot	
Chair, Animal Care and Ethics Committee	Dr Christopher Paul McCarthy	
Chair, Human Research Ethics Committee	Dr Jodie Marquez	
Director, Health Research and Translation Centre, HNE Local Health	Professor John Wiggers	
Director Institute for Regional Futures	Professor Roberta Ryan	
Director Central Coast Research Institute	Professor Nick Goodwin	

Updated February 2024