Moving files

Help! I saved my file in the wrong spot - how do I move it?

The process of moving files in CMS2 can be tricky, and is not recommended unless absolutely necessary. There are always two versions of any file within TeamSite (with the exception of Resources): the source file (stored in templatedata) and the generated file (stored in the top-level Content areas). Moving files alters the relationship between the versions and can cause errors in the system, so we'd recommend undertaking any move with caution.

If you need to move a file, you must make sure that you delete the generated version of the file as well as moving the templatedata record. The process for moving a file is listed below; if you find you are still not confident moving a file, contact web@newcastle.edu.au for assistance and support.

How to move a file

  1. Navigate to the Content folder that contains the generated version of the file that you wish to move. This will be located in the Content workarea not the templatedata folder.

  2. Select the checkbox next to the file.

  3. Click the File menu at the top left of the TeamSite window and select Delete. The system will ask you to confirm deletion. Select OK. This will not delete the primary templatedata record, only the generated file.

  4. Now navigate to the folder in templatedata that contains the source file that you wish to move.

  5. Select the checkbox next to the file.

  6. Click the File menu at the top left of the TeamSite window and select Move.

  7. Browse to the folder that will be the new location for the file. The system will ask you to confirm the move. Select OK.

  8. Navigate back to the templatedata file, select Edit to open the file and click Submit. The file will now successfully be moved within the templatedata folder and you will also be able to see the generated version in its correct new location within the Content workarea.