- How does the approvals process work in CMS2?
- What happens when an approver clicks the Approve or Reject button?
- How do I review the changes that have been made?
- OK, I am happy with the changes. How do I approve them?
- I haven't received any approval emails. Can I approve changes another way?
CMS2 provides a structured approvals workflow that requires all changes to the University's website to be approved by a designated content approver. Changes cannot be published to the live website without this approval.
When a file is submitted within CMS2, an email is generated to the designated content approver outlining the changes and requesting approval. The content approver will also be able to read any comments added by the author or publisher. A screen shot of a sample email is attached below:
The approver can review the changes made to the document by clicking on the Approve or Reject these files button at the bottom of the email.
Once an approver clicks on the Approve or Reject these Files button, a login screen for the CMS will pop up. Approvers need to enter in their Uni ID (eg abc123) as the username, and their normal University systems password. A screen shot is below:
Once the approver logs in, he or she will see a screen that is similar to the email, which shows the files submitted for approval and the comments entered by whoever made the changes. A sample screen shot is below:
Approvers can view the changes made to a particular file by clicking on the View differences link that appears on the screen next to the Attached Files section. This will then show all of the changes made to a particular piece of content by bringing up a preview that shows the old and new versions of the file.
For the example above, if Tim clicked on the View differences link next to the Contact Us file, he would be taken to a screen that shows the old and new versions of the Contact Us file. A screen shot is shown below:
The one on the left is the one that has been changed, while the one on the right is the original version of the file. In the example, you can see that the amended file has a different heading Get in Contact to that of the older file Contact Us.
Once you have reviewed the submitted files, close the preview window. This will take you back to the main approvals screen. There are three options that approvers can select: Approve & Publish, Send back to author and Reject. These options are represented by the three buttons at the bottom of the screen:
- To approve the change, add any relevant comments into the Comments field and click on Approve & Publish. This will then publish the change to the University's website.
- To reject the change completely, add any relevant comments into the Comments field and click on Reject. This will then send an email to whoever submitted the content telling them that their changes have been rejected and will not be published.
- If the file needs more amendments before being published, you have the option to Send back to author for changes. You must add comments into the Comments field explaining what needs to be done. This will then send an email to the author asking them to make the required changes and resubmit the file.
If you are an area approver and you are not receiving the CMS generated approval emails when you know a change has been submitted, please email firstname.lastname@example.org.
Please note that Groupwise may have filtered your approval email into your Junk or other folder in your mailbox. Please check all folder inboxes before contacting the team.
If you have not received an email, you can still approve changes in the workflow by logging in to the CMS system at http://cms.newcastle.edu.au.
Once you have logged in, you will need to navigate to the 'Workflow' tab in the top left-hand corner of the browser window. Please select 'Tasks' and then view 'All Tasks' from the drop-down menu.
Scan for the task that you are responsible for and select it. (You can locate the task by looking at the author's ID in the 'Requested by' column).
Click on the task. The bottom half of the screen will change to provide the task description; you can view the files contained in the task by clicking on them. Next, you should 'Take' the task by clicking the blue take button . This means that you are now responsible for approving or rejecting the workflow.
When you have finished reviewing the files, please choose Approve & Publish, Send back to author or Reject.
Once you have made your selection, the task will disappear from the workflow and an email will be sent back to the author with details of your approval.
If you have finished your task approvals, please log out.