Univeristy of Newcastle teaching grants, awards and fellowships, Vice-Chancellor's citations and awards, application forms.

Vice-Chancellor's Awards for Teaching Excellence

The Vice-Chancellor's Awards for Teaching Excellence and Contribution to Student Learning seek to recognise and reward staff (individuals or groups) who make an outstanding contribution to student learning at the University. 

The Awards fall into the following categories:

  1. An award for Academics (individuals or groups) from each Faculty (up to five awards)
  2. An award for Academics (individuals or groups) from either The Wollotuka Institute or English Language and Foundation Studies Centre (up to one award)
  3. An award for Professional Staff and/or Teachers from across the University (up to one award)
  4. The overall Vice-Chancellor's Award for Teaching Excellence and Contribution to Student Learning is presented to the most outstanding recipient from the above categories.

For information on 2015 Awards please contact the Centre for Teaching and Learning:

Previous Recipients

2014 Award Recipients


Most Outstanding - Dr Peter Howley, Science and Information Technology

Highly Commended - Associate Professor Ljiljana Brankovic, Engineering and Built Environment)

Business and Law

  • Dr Tamara Young

Education and Arts

  • Dr Rachel Buchanan, Dr Erica Southgate, Ms Cheryl Williams, Mr Warren Burke

Engineering and Built Environment

  • Associate Professor Ljiljana Brankovic

Health and Medicine

  • Associate Professor Helen Warren-Forward

Science and Information Technology

  • Dr Peter Howley

Centre/Institute Teaching Excellence Award

  • Miss Aimee Turner (Academic Division)

Professional Staff Contribution to Student Learning Award

  • Mr Shaun McCarthy (Business and Law)

2013 Award Recipients

Business and Law
  • Dr Paul Docherty
  • Dr Richard Oloruntoba
  • Dr Jo Hanley and Dr Paul Stolk
Education and Arts
  • Dr Trisha Pender
  • Dr Marguerite Johnson
  • Associate Professor David Lubans
  • Dr Zsuzsa Millei
  • Dr Caroline Webb
Science and Information Technology
  • Associate Professor Brett Nixon
  • Dr Darren Burke
  • Dr Rama Venkatasawmy
Health and Medicine
  • Ms Yolanda Surjan
  • Mr Ben Carter, Ms Jenny Day, Professor Tracy Levett-Jones, Ms Amanda Morris, Dr Ann Taylor
  • Ms Carol Arthur, Professor Tracy Levett-Jones, Mrs Marian Niddrie
UoN Services Limited
  • Ms Penelope Finnigan, Ms Barbie Procobis, Mr Tone Gibson, Ms Angela Philp

2012 Award Recipients

Business and Law
  • Dr Ashish Malik
  • Dr Tim Connor
  • Dr Brendan Boyle, Dr Tony Drew, Dr Karen Tian
Education and Arts
  • Ms Helen English
  • Dr Ruth Reynolds
  • Dr Nancy Cushing, Dr Josephine May, Dr James Bennett, Dr Lisa Featherstone, Dr Troy Duncan
Science and Information Technology
  • Dr Costas Stathopoulos
  • Dr Andrea Griffin
  • Ms Daphne James
Engineering and Built Environment
  • Dr Thayaparan Gajendran, Associate Professor Willy Sher, Professor Tony Williams, Ms Annemarie Dosen, Mr Andrew Yardy, Mr Wyn Jones
English Language Foundation Studies Centre
  • Mrs Catherine Burgess
  • Elizabeth Goode, Keryl Kavanagh, Jan Mahyuddin, Anne Morante, Joyleen Christensen, Angela Henderson, Amanda Valent, Deanna McCall, Evonne Irwin, Scott Sciffer, Helene Clark, Susie Wright, Susan West, Michelle Challinor, Joe Whitehead, Dianne Rigney and Barry Hodges

2011 Award Recipients

Education and Arts
  • Dr Catriona Malau
Science and Information Technology
  • Dr Mark Rubin
  • Dr Marita Lynagh, Dr Sue Outram and Dr Conor Gilligan