Council members

2012 University Council

Current membership 

Official members  
The Chancellor  Mr Paul Jeans
The Vice Chancellor and President Professor Caroline McMillen
MA, DPhil(Oxon), MB, BChir(Cantab)

The President of the Academic Senate 

Professor Mark Jones
BSc(Hons), PhD(CNAA, UK)
External members appointed by the Minister Conjoint Professor Geoff Lilliss
BE(Hons), MBA(Merit)(Newcastle), FIEAust, MAICD
 Mr Robert (Bob) Kennedy
External members appointed by Council 
The Deputy Chancellor Ms Dianne Allen JP
BCom(Newcastle), CA, GAICD
  Ms Sharryn Brownlee
  Mr Peter Cockbain
BScEng(Newcastle), FIEAust, CPEng, FIPENZ, FTSE
  Mr Brian Kennaugh
  Dr Geoff Leonard AM
BCom, HonDBus(Newcastle), FCA, FCPA
 Ms Michelle McPherson
BBus(Accounting)(UTS), CA, GAICD
  Ms Deborah Wright
DipTeach(Newcastle), MBA(SCU), FAMI, CPM
Academic staff members - elected Dr Tom Griffiths
BEd(Hons), PhD(Newcastle),GradCert TESOL(UTS)
  Associate Professor Wayne Reynolds
BA, PhD(Newcastle)
Non-academic staff member - elected Ms Leanne Holt
Dip HR(HIT), MME(Newcastle) 
Student member - elected Mr Vivak Bhavitheren (Bhavi) Ravindran